Takes My Pain Away

Got my weekly workout from Jamie over the weekend. During the week it’s basically 4000 yards each time with preparing for 10 x 800 yds (8000 yards or 4.5 miles) on Saturday!  Today I was to do 20 x 200 yards with every 4th one being non-free and 30 seconds rest inbetween. No problem.

Around the 8th one, my left hip starting hurting and continued through the rest of the workout. The pain level reached it’s peak at a 5 on a 0 – 10 scale.  I felt the %&*()&$# on every flipturn.  For the most part, I couldn’t kick on that side with my full strength and freestyle kicks come from the hip.  Basically a dolphin kick into a flipturn wasn’t helping, but I had to do that one.  I remembered what Jamie said about holding onto and learning to endure painful moments while swimming. It wasn’t the first time, it won’t be the last time that I’ll be in physical pain.  I had to let my mind *really* wander so I wouldn’t focus on it.  My times were way off and I’m sure I looked like I was doing a cool down the entire time instead of being in the midst of an actual workout. I was dedicated to finishing though.

I don’t have my “pharmacy” with me poolside since it wouldn’t do much good. Any painkillers or anti-inflammatories I have (including ibuprofen) take awhile to kick in which with only swimming 4000 yards, this workout would have been almost over by the time I was done. Plus even ibuprofen makes me feel light-headed when it first hits. Forget about expecting me to swim on oxycodone. I thought about taking my ibuprofen when I woke up, and I definitely take it before longer swims. I’ve never needed it for a 4000 yard swim though. My left hip had felt a little tight this morning, but I didn’t think anything of it at the time. Lesson learned.

Ironic that I need to schedule my 2-year and 1-year follow-up appointments with my surgeon?

I endured and finished my set though. I am very proud of myself for that.

This entry was posted in Lake Tahoe Width Crossing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

